Google, Google Maps, Neighborhood, Normal Heights, Professionalism

BlackBalled by Google?

Modern colorful Google brand images
Generally it’s not wise to anger Google.

 

I started my first Blog about 3 years ago.  I don’t mind telling you it wasn’t very good.  Luckily for me, the focus of that blog was the Pacific Crest Trail, the 2600 mile behemoth hike that begins right here in San Diego, and ends just a little ways north of the Canadian border. Even if the writing was terrible; the pictures, I can assure you, were magnificent.

Normal Heights overlooks Mission Valley
Normal Heights vew of Mission Valley

I’m not going to claim that my blogging has improved despite the numerous websites I’ve begun since then.  At no point in my writing career however, has Google removed one of my sites from its search listings.  That is actually pretty extraordinary because much of my writing since then could best be described as, ‘controversial.’

Yet here I am toiling away at a neighborhood blog that Google refuses to show in its search results any longer. How do I know? I may not be much of a writer but I am one very capable researcher. Being the diligent researcher I am, you can imagine that I monitor all of my websites regularly. So when a search for the keyword combination ‘Normal Heights Blog’ -literally the name of this blog!- doesn’t merit so much as  an ‘impression,’ I tend to notice.

The Classic and colorful "Google Logo
Google, my favorite Technology Company.

Interestingly several other sites with outbound links to this blog do show up, specifically my Flickr account.  Even more interesting, is that Bing, one of Googles’ competitors has this very same blog occupying the top two spots when a search is performed on that engine using the same keywords. Others too…

  • Yahoo:  Top two Spots.
  • DuckDuckGo:  Top two Spots.
  • Bing: Top two spots. 

What is going on here? Why on earth does Google refuse to even acknowledge this Blog exists? I’ve received no manual web-spam actions. Google’s Search Console indicates everything is chugging along just fine.

But I know that’s not true. And Google knows I know.

I own eight domain through the Search Giant, and use almost every product of theirs I can get my hands on.  I’m writing this from a Chromebook, for god’s sake.

Google and I clearly need to have a chat…

Talk to me Google, what’s going on. love? You’ve never acted like this before. Even when I told the world I wasn’t voting. Google, if you’re listening, and I know that you are;  I hope this doesn’t have anything to do with me revealing hidden park locations in the Normal Heights community.  Because you see, that’s not going to stop Google.  I’m sorry….I’m a mapper and you’ve always known that.  The parks will continue to be exposed.  Don’t worry about whomever is flagging my content. I’m good to you baby, you know that, don’t let anyone come between us….

Either way, it’s an interesting little phenomenon, and I’m happy to report that since most of my traffic comes from direct Social Media referrals; I’m none the poorer.  In fact the whole thing segues directly to another Blog I’ve begun, the topic of which is Google in its entirety! From Search to Development.  The fact is that I use the tech giant far too much to not at least attempt to help others by revealing all the little things I’ve learned about Google over the years.  Whether your want to insert raw HTML into your Gmail, Actually discover something in Search, or insert Slides into your Website Header; My Google-Trickery Blog intends to examine all the different cool things one can do with a free Google Account.  Sounds fun, eh?

By-the-by, I’ll keep monitoring the situation with Google Search, and let you know how it goes.  Meantime…. Have you ever thought to yourself, “hmm… I wonder if there is some sort of path or trail that connects Mission Valley to Normal Heights, North Park, and Kensington?  Of course you have!  No-one has ever passed through Mission Valley and not thought about it.

Well, stick around for my next post to find out EXACTLY where that route is.  Cheers!  😉

An incredible view over Missino Valley from Normal Heights.
Mission Valley is all Mine!

5 thoughts on “BlackBalled by Google?”

    1. They don’t connect except by way of City streets and such, unfortunately. The primary trail in City Heights appears to be Manzanita canyon, an extremely extensive trail, and probably the longest in San Diego City proper.

      It’s interesting that you brought it up as having appeared on NPR. When I examined the Google Maps listing for the Manzanita Canyon, it had been flooded with photos from places like Yosemite. Webspammers saw an opportunity to get their photos out there and exploit some free advertising it seems. I flagged most of them but if you check it out, you’ll still see photos of 13,000 foot peaks supposedly right in the middle of San Diego. (Sigh…)

      Like

  1. Hey! Saw your post in First Friday.

    Gotta be honest, I don’t live anywhere near California but I still found this piece funny and engaging.

    Do you have a link for the new google blog yet? I’d really love to check that one out as I’m always trying to learn how to get a little more out of google’s already over-bearing presence in my life.

    -John

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmmm… thanks for the compliment finestbagelsblog.
      I’m sad to say I do not have the link the Googles new googleblog.com service, I’m sad to say. That’s sounds like exactly the way Google would roll out such a service though. Invite-only… remember they first launched Google +. Thanks for the insight though. That’s I’ll keep my eye out for it. Google is tough to stay on top of to be honest. The features they roll out, either openly or in secret are just too damned numerous somtimes.

      Like

Love Normal Heights? Let me know....

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.